RAIN

The rain came. I am happy. We have not had power in our house for 2 days (since our fridge arrived) and it has been very hot. Now, Vadhia Mausam Aaiaa or something like that. I remembered all the Punjabi I knew very quickly, but now I have to go past it and progress is much slower. We setup someone to tutor us 5 days a week, but haven’t started those classes yet. I’m really looking forward to it. The University program has not progressed much because we need at least 5 people to commit to the program for them to create it and run it. It seems easy to find only 3 more people, but we haven’t come up with many names of people that could actually do it. If that doesn’t work out, we will likely increase our time with the Tutor and continue that way.

Raag – Gurbani Kirtan studies have been good. Ustad Ji (Narinder Singh) has been teaching many others from 3HO, so I started my classes with him my second day here. My first Raag has been given: Raag Bhairav. The Shabd that I am practicing the raag in is Oothat Sukhiaa Bhaithat Sukhiaa in Teen Taal (16 beat). It is relatively easy, but definitely fun to sing and listen to.

The thing that had initially attracted me to raag and continues to amaze and inspire me is the effect that the sound has on my emotions. I have never experienced sadness, happiness, longing, and other more specific emotions, as intensely as I have in listening to Raag. The ridiculous thing is sometimes Ustad will sing the same notes twice. The first time it will sound dry and dull and there is no feeling at all. Then, he will sing it again and I have tears in my eyes before I can think about anything. And that is something I would love to be able to create on my own and for others. The one thing I realized is that there are half notes and half of half notes and so on and so on and I know that has something to do with how the feelings are created.

Logistically, Harbhajan and I have worked for a full week on setting up our house and we now have a fridge, our internet paperwork is done but it still needs to be setup, we have someone coming for about 4 hours a day to cook and clean, we got a few cholas made and a few turbans, our AC unit is getting installed today (we found a resource for used, inexpensive AC. I hope all goes well with it….), and our program with the University is somewhat underway. Once I have internet at home, I want to get some pictures up here and spend some time setting up this blog, then daily posts will start and hopefully they will be less boring (to me… 🙂 ).

12 Responses to “RAIN”

  1. Puja Says:

    Sat Sri Akaal Dharam, visiting your blog for the first time, got the link from Gurmustak ji’s blog.
    nice to see things are starting to roll for you and Harbhajan.
    i like the idea of a personal punjabi tutor. i need to get one of those 🙂 !!

    Good Luck with everything, May Guru’s blessings always be with you.

  2. gmustuk Says:

    Sounds like things are getting worked out Dharam 🙂 It’s nice to read about the happenings there in India and what you are doing. I look forward to seeing pictures when you are ready.

  3. inderjit singh Says:

    duuuuuude nice to see you got a blog set up.

    4 bedrooms. 2 for you guys each, 1 for Guru ji, so next time i come to india i get the spare room?

    keep up the blogging man, nice to know your still alive =]

  4. GSG Says:

    nice blog dharam …….

    just wondering who is sponsoring your trip,,,,, or are working in amritsar…..

    thanks

  5. Amrit Sadhana Kaur Khalsa Says:

    Sat Nam Jio! Sounds like things are going well. I know exactly what you mean about how music effects your emotions. As a music major my whole study is based on how I can “perform” the song… how to effect people with the words and notes that I am singing. It isn’t always easy, but I find that by surrendering my voice to God and Guru, I don’t even have to think about it. Glad to hear you are doing well!
    Wahe Guru Ji Ka Khalsa! Wahe Guru Ji Ki Fateh!

  6. Angad Says:

    satnam ji

    its great to see you share your experiences about living in the city built by our 4th guru sahb.. if you can please let me know where can i get cholas made.. and how long does it take to get them ready .. guru raka .. Angad

  7. mataji Says:

    hahahahahha………cosmic joke….you got the fridge but without the electric juice it cannot work. Kind of a metaphor for life and God.

    You can have a Guru, but it does not work unless you use the Guru. Right!?
    xoxoxoxo

    “Nimaka Na bisaro tumako harhar…………………”
    blessings to you with love
    Mata-ji

  8. Manjit Singh Says:

    Great to see you blogging Dharam! Good luck with GNDU programs and hope they find enough people to sign up. Where are the pictures?

  9. Sirivishnu Singh Says:

    so god created the world is seven days, but on the sixth day the mind is troubled…
    ootat sukhiaa bhettat sookhia……sing it and feel it and the whole world shall be soothed, bhara ji
    ang sang wahe guru keep up

  10. Jaswinder Kaur Says:

    Hope all is well. i like what Mata ji said
    “Nimaka Na bisaro tumako harhar…………………”

    Such a sweet blessing

  11. Singh Says:

    Dharam bhaji, my biggest concern comin to India is… water, kinda weird but i just dont trust it, what are u going to do to ensure u drink safe water…i need tips

    also share with us how to remain diarreha free while in India 🙂

    Vaheguroo

  12. sikhproblems Says:

    http://sikhproblems.wordpress.com/ check it

Leave a Reply

